Born out of a chance encounter in 2012 that led to a lasting friendship, Rhythm Section Int’l & producer, DJ, label boss, radio host, and record store owner Ruf Dug join forces to present ‘The Committee’. Sitting somewhere between fictional band and studio collaboration, the record is the first fully in house production for Rhythm Section, recorded start to finish at their own South East London studio and featuring vocals from label founder Bradley Zero and label mate FYI Chris’s Chris Watson. 

Right from the studio’s initial creation, Ruf Dug felt inspired by the space’s unique musical identity, jumping at the opportunity to create a collaborative record there over a two week studio residency. And betwe en his DJ r esidencies at Pikes, Gottwood and NTS radio the Manchester via Ibiza computer game freak and renowned vinyl digger found the time to meld his wide range of influences. Having been a key driving force behind Be With ’s Holy Grail reissue of Bô’vel's Check 4 U, Ruffy has more than earned his stripes as a boss level Street Soul collector, pre empting the resurgent interest in the genre, which began in the mid 80s and is still a popular sound in Manchester today. This new release draws parallels between the DIY attitude of Street Soul labels like TSR, Intrigue, Jam Today & Elite and the modus operandi of the RS studio. 

A wholly synergetic work, the project’s title “The Committee” reflects the collaborative nature of this release, as Ruf Dug states: “ Authorship is a strange concept at the best of times but this genuinely is a group effort and I very much enjoyed feeling like just one piece of a larger entity the com plete opposite to my usual production experience of being all alone in my room for days at a time.” The EP also features additional production from Rhythm Section’s own Mali Baden -Powell, who DJ’s and produces as Z Lovecraft and comes from a background in StreetSoul music, his father was also in legendary UK acid jazz collective D'Influence. In addition, the record features a dynamic range of vocalists: sultry deliveries from Natalie Wildgoose and Sienna Mustafa, a rap from her sister Nadina, and the vocal debuts of FYI Chris’s Chris Watson and Bradley Zero. 



Ruf Dug presents The Committee EP

    • Grey Bandcamp Icon
    • Grey Facebook Icon
    • Grey Instagram Icon
    • Grey Twitter Icon
    • Grey SoundCloud Icon

    © 2018 Wax Museum Records.

    Visit our store

    Wax Museum Records

    Shop 2 Campbell arcade, Degraves st.

    Melbourne 3000

    +61 3 9663-6310